CoPaP Forum Index CoPaP
 A community of linked Neverwinter Nights worlds. 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 RegisterRegister   Log inLog in 
The time now is Tue Nov 19, 2019 7:06 pm
All times are UTC - 5
View posts since last visit
View unanswered posts
 Forum index » The Confederation of Planes & Planets » CoPaP: General Discussion
question about portals
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topicView next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
Guest
Guest

 question about portals

I have a question about how changes on a character made in one server are transferred back to another. I mean, do xp changes and inventory changes stay the same when one logs out of one server and then relogs into another one?

Specifically, I am referring to Rockhome and Avlis. I finally managed (with help) to find the Rockhome portal in Avlis. I crossed through and went to the desert. After about an hour of gameplay (puchased some new armor, killed random things) I decided I had enough. So I logged out.

Then, a few hours later, I relogged back to Avlis. Here, I discovered that the xp and items I had earned were gone. Is that supposed to happen?

This was actually my first experience outside on a copap world outside of Avlis and am just a bit confused... Question

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2004 10:57 am
Reply with quote Back to top 
markschouten
Planar Sage

Joined: 11 Jan 2004
Posts: 75
Location: Ysgard (GMT+1/2)
If you don't take the portal from Rockhome to Avlis again , the version of your character in the Servervault will be the one from when you left Avlis. So if you didn't do that yet , that is most likely the problem.

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2004 11:52 am
 View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
 ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top 
Orleron
Multiverse Scholar


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 1252
Location: Avlis
Right, your stuff will only be retained if you portal back to Avlis properly. What you did is known as "server-hopping".
_________________
Avlis: http://www.avlis.org

"My name is Orleron...a dungeonmaster...two years ago I got shot through a game client...I'm in a distant part of the internet aboard these servers of escaped mental patients...my players. I've made enemies, stupid, and annoying...now all I want to do is make CoPaP a reality, to warn Earth...Look inward(to your monitor) and share the newbies I've seen..."

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2004 12:53 pm
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
 ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top 
Sindol
Ambassador: Catara


Joined: 25 Nov 2003
Posts: 81
Location: Avlis & Catara
In general the "golden rule" is:

Log back in where you logged out last time.

This will prevent any weird things from happening to your inventory, gold or XP.
_________________
So much fun,
yet so little time to enjoy it.
- Sindol

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2004 1:56 pm
 View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Reply with quote Back to top 
Khaelindra
Groundling

Joined: 21 Jan 2004
Posts: 94
Location: Deventer, the Netherlands
When you enter a server, that server loads the last known version of your character as stored on the DB of the world the server is part of.

When you use a portal to another world (like Rockhome to Avlis), your characterfile is transferred during portalling. When you enter the new server, the last known version of your character is the one just transferred, so all is A-ok.

However, when you jump to a server of another world without using a portal (like Rockhome to Avlis), you basically skip the character transfer file. The new server again loads your last known character, which is of course the version of your character when you portalled out if it is hopping back to a world you've already visited. When you do this in a world you have never been to, the character isn't even available.

When you do this between two servers of the same world, like two Avlis servers, you use the same version of your character as they use the same database and thus notice no effect.

Indeed basically, don't serverhop. If you have no choice, because for instance the world you were on has unexpectedly gone down for a long time, then know you reverse all effects gained in the last world.

I think in theory your old file is supposed to be deleted, leaving you no choice but to log into the correct world. However, in practise you still have old version lingering on all worlds you ever visited.

Hope this helps.

M.

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 6:21 am
 View user's profile Send private message
Reply with quote Back to top 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topicView next topic
 Forum index » The Confederation of Planes & Planets » CoPaP: General Discussion
Jump to:  

You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You can edit your posts in this forum
You can delete your posts in this forum
You can vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0882s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0542s) ][ GZIP on - Debug on ]