Argh. EffectBeam issues

Forum for scripters of NWN material and third party applications.
Post Reply
Themicles
Leader: Tairis'nàdur & CoPaP Hak-Master
Posts: 887
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 11:26 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Argh. EffectBeam issues

Post by Themicles »

Well, I got this script working... sort of... I hear the sound, but don't see
the beam... *sigh*

Code: Select all

void main()
{
object oFocus = GetObjectByTag("focus_point");
object oT1 = GetObjectByTag("tn_gaerth_fthful_sw");
object oT2 = GetObjectByTag("tn_gaerth_fthful_se");
object oT3 = GetObjectByTag("tn_gaerth_fthful_ne");
object oT4 = GetObjectByTag("tn_gaerth_fthful_nw");
effect eHoly = EffectBeam(VFX_BEAM_HOLY, oFocus, BODY_NODE_CHEST);

    ApplyEffectToObject(DURATION_TYPE_INSTANT, eHoly, oT1);

    ApplyEffectToObject(DURATION_TYPE_INSTANT, eHoly, oT2);

    ApplyEffectToObject(DURATION_TYPE_INSTANT, eHoly, oT3);

    ApplyEffectToObject(DURATION_TYPE_INSTANT, eHoly, oT4);
}
Like I said... everything happens BUT the visual effect... and thats the
whole point. The Effect is firing, but the beam isn't displaying...

-Themicles
Nightbringer
Groundling
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2003 6:06 pm
Location: Crimson Stars
Contact:

Post by Nightbringer »

I think beams have to have a duration, they're not instantaneous effects, though the duration is usually small.
[url=http://www.crimsonstars.com]Crimson Stars: Spelljammer Persistant world[/url]
[url=http://nwvault.ign.com/Files/hakpacks/data/1060320751937.shtml]Arcane Space Tileset / Turn Based Spelljammer[/url]
Spelljammer in NWN, ship to ship combat, space piracy, and more!
Themicles
Leader: Tairis'nàdur & CoPaP Hak-Master
Posts: 887
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 11:26 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Post by Themicles »

I'll try giving it a duration and see if the beam shows up.
Like I said, the sound is happening... but the beam isn't. The sound is a
part of the EffectBeam, not a seperate command being made, as you can
see in the script... so I'm hoping the duration is it.

Thanks

-Themicles
Themicles
Leader: Tairis'nàdur & CoPaP Hak-Master
Posts: 887
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 11:26 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Post by Themicles »

Yeah it worked. Thanks. How about this now? The actual end result acts
as if the ActionWait() isn't even there.

Code: Select all

void main()
{
object oFocus = GetObjectByTag("focus_point");
object oOrigin = GetObjectByTag("Gaerth_RunePillar");
object oP1 = GetObjectByTag("tn_gaerth_fthful_sw");
object oP2 = GetObjectByTag("tn_gaerth_fthful_se");
object oP3 = GetObjectByTag("tn_gaerth_fthful_ne");
object oP4 = GetObjectByTag("tn_gaerth_fthful_nw");
effect eHoly = EffectBeam(VFX_BEAM_HOLY, oFocus, BODY_NODE_CHEST);
effect eSource = EffectBeam(VFX_BEAM_HOLY, oFocus, BODY_NODE_CHEST);

    ApplyEffectToObject(DURATION_TYPE_TEMPORARY, eSource, oOrigin, 5.0);

    ActionWait(2.0);

    ApplyEffectToObject(DURATION_TYPE_TEMPORARY, eHoly, oP1, 5.0);

    ApplyEffectToObject(DURATION_TYPE_TEMPORARY, eHoly, oP2, 5.0);

    ApplyEffectToObject(DURATION_TYPE_TEMPORARY, eHoly, oP3, 5.0);

    ApplyEffectToObject(DURATION_TYPE_TEMPORARY, eHoly, oP4, 5.0);
}
-Themicles
Vian
Clueless Prime
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 3:59 pm

Post by Vian »

ActionWait is for Player actions not effects.

Try DelayCommand instead.
Like this:

Code: Select all

DelayCommand(3.0,ApplyEffectAtLocation(DURATION_TYPE_TEMPORARY,eEffect2,lPort,30.0));
Themicles
Leader: Tairis'nàdur & CoPaP Hak-Master
Posts: 887
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 11:26 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Post by Themicles »

See why I made that news post about an open scripter position on my
team? :D

Thanks

-Themicles
Post Reply