Proposal for the Perform skill

Development for CoPaP
Post Reply
tygermoon
Noobie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 2:32 pm

Proposal for the Perform skill

Post by tygermoon » Mon Sep 12, 2005 2:35 pm

I am re-posting this from the Avlis boards, as I understand that this is a CoPaP-wide issue that I'd like to see resolved...
tygermoon wrote:I am bumping this to put forth once again that perform be made a cross-class skill, rather than one that is just not available for any one other than bards.

I would really like to take this skill with my main character, but right now I'd have to take a level in bard to make that happen. I would be willing to spend extra skill points on it.. RP wise, this makes more sense, as she will always be an amateur, and never a true bard. She likes to perform, but isn't really a composer.

Should I post this once again in Ask the Team, I wonder, or is this becoming a "dead horse" issue?

Anyone?

Thanks,
-Tyger-
.

teleri
World Leader: The Outlands
Posts: 497
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 2:24 pm
Location: Sigil
Contact:

Post by teleri » Mon Sep 12, 2005 9:50 pm

I have never looked into what level of work it would take to make this happen. So at this point I have no valid input other than it seems an interesting idea.
Cheers,
teleri

Building the Outlands one GateTown at a Time
[url=http://www.greatring.net][color=blue][u][b]The Outlands[/color][/u][/b][/url]
[url=http://www.diterlizzi.com/art/games/planescape/index.html][color=blue][u][b]The Look of PlaneScape[/color][/u][/b][/url]

slave.of.emotions
Groundling
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: The European Union
Contact:

Post by slave.of.emotions » Tue Sep 13, 2005 4:02 am

I just tested it and the following would need to be done;

cls_skill_xxx.2da for all classes would required to be addet to the copap hak, right now there are only those of custom PrCs, as next another line would required to be addet

Code: Select all

xx    Perform         11	   0
to make perform a cross-class skil
and

Code: Select all

xx    Perform         11	   1
to make it a main-class skill

example for psion:

Code: Select all

2DA V2.0

      SkillLabel      SkillIndex   ClassSkill   
0     Concentration   1            1            
1     DisableTrap     2            0            
2     Discipline      3            0            
3     Heal            4            1            
4     Hide            5            0            
5     Listen          6            1            
6     Lore            7            1            
7     MoveSilently    8            0            
8     OpenLock        9            0            
9     Parry           10           0            
10    Persuade        12           1            
11    PickPocket      13           0            
12    Search          14           1            
13    SetTrap         15           0            
14    Spellcraft      16           1            
15    Spot            17           1            
16    Taunt           18           0            
17    Appraise        20           0            
18    Tumble          21           0            
19    CraftTrap       22           1            
20    Bluff           23           0            
21    Intimidate      24           0            
22    CraftWeapon     26           1            
23    CraftArmor      25           1            
24    Perform         11           0
if someone tells me how to get the cls_skill_xxx.2da files for other classes then i could do this.
[url=http://www.dynasig.net/?id=2052][img]http://serve.dynasig.net/2052.gif[/img][/url]
[url=http://photobucket.com/albums/a296/6_loverboy_9/NWN/]screenshots[/url][url=http://slaveofemotions.sl.funpic.de/mx/index.php?page=4&smartor_mode=album_cat&cat_id=1]and more[/url]

tygermoon
Noobie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 2:32 pm

Post by tygermoon » Tue Sep 13, 2005 9:55 am

Thanks, guys, this sounds promising. I have NO coding experience, or I'd offer to help. Hope to see all you follow through with this. :)

*keeping her fingers crossed*

-Tyger-

Sindol
Ambassador: Catara
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 3:33 am
Location: Avlis & Catara

Post by Sindol » Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:08 am

Pointing out what should be obvious to anyone familiar with how haks work: even if you change a little bit, you have to do a full redistribution to the whole of CoPaP. That means a new version of at least the CoPaP hak, which means your request needs to go through Themicles.

I thought the cross-class perform had already been introduced in the last version of those haks, since this is a rather old discussion. It's too bad it was missed out on (maybe for a good reason though, maybe just because nobody did the actual work). In my opinion this change is a bit too minor to warrant the hassle that is a full version update and redistribution.
So much fun,
yet so little time to enjoy it.
- Sindol

slave.of.emotions
Groundling
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: The European Union
Contact:

Post by slave.of.emotions » Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:17 am

Sindol wrote:Pointing out what should be obvious to anyone familiar with how haks work: even if you change a little bit, you have to do a full redistribution to the whole of CoPaP. That means a new version of at least the CoPaP hak, which means your request needs to go through Themicles.

I thought the cross-class perform had already been introduced in the last version of those haks, since this is a rather old discussion. It's too bad it was missed out on (maybe for a good reason though, maybe just because nobody did the actual work). In my opinion this change is a bit too minor to warrant the hassle that is a full version update and redistribution.
I think it is even so minor that it could be a mini update without that the hak version would require a change, the worlds would just need to get it and replace the old hak without having to rebuild they mod, and people that want to use this skill would just have to redownload this one hak. Something similar was done with the bug fix for changelings some time ago on avlis.


Themicles ? *puppy eyes*
[url=http://www.dynasig.net/?id=2052][img]http://serve.dynasig.net/2052.gif[/img][/url]
[url=http://photobucket.com/albums/a296/6_loverboy_9/NWN/]screenshots[/url][url=http://slaveofemotions.sl.funpic.de/mx/index.php?page=4&smartor_mode=album_cat&cat_id=1]and more[/url]

Themicles
Leader: Tairis'nàdur & CoPaP Hak-Master
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 11:26 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Post by Themicles » Wed Sep 14, 2005 10:22 am

A sub has already done the code for this.

It WAS approved for last release, but got pushed out in the shuffle.

It will be in next release. Now the race is to see if I can get enough done to justify a new release before BioWare releases the next patch. ;)
"A wise man does not dwell on his past. He learns from it, he grows from it, and then moves ahead into his future." -me

Apandapion
CoPaP: Player Coordinator
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 2:40 am

Post by Apandapion » Wed Sep 14, 2005 4:59 pm

slave.of.emotions wrote:
Sindol wrote:Pointing out what should be obvious to anyone familiar with how haks work: even if you change a little bit, you have to do a full redistribution to the whole of CoPaP. That means a new version of at least the CoPaP hak, which means your request needs to go through Themicles.

I thought the cross-class perform had already been introduced in the last version of those haks, since this is a rather old discussion. It's too bad it was missed out on (maybe for a good reason though, maybe just because nobody did the actual work). In my opinion this change is a bit too minor to warrant the hassle that is a full version update and redistribution.
I think it is even so minor that it could be a mini update without that the hak version would require a change, the worlds would just need to get it and replace the old hak without having to rebuild they mod, and people that want to use this skill would just have to redownload this one hak. Something similar was done with the bug fix for changelings some time ago on avlis.

Themicles ? *puppy eyes*
The coordination required to release a copap-wide change and get all of the servers to use it at anywhere near the same time must be something like trying to make a human pyramid out of cats on methamphetamines, irregardless of the exact size of the change.

Pandaerus
Noobie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 22, 2005 3:53 pm

Post by Pandaerus » Sat Feb 04, 2006 4:08 pm

Personally I think this is a bad bad idea.

Certainly for real performing bards on a world like Avlis which doesn't have the Harpers and RDD PrC. Which I don't blame them.

But with this you give every class the only identity bards has.
Their Perform skill.

I stand for RPing and for Bards and say Nay.

Loki70
Planewalker
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 12:25 am
Location: Seattle, WA

Post by Loki70 » Sat Feb 04, 2006 7:17 pm

Pandaerus wrote:Personally I think this is a bad bad idea.

Certainly for real performing bards on a world like Avlis which doesn't have the Harpers and RDD PrC. Which I don't blame them.

But with this you give every class the only identity bards has.
Their Perform skill.

I stand for RPing and for Bards and say Nay.
Bards are and always have been a Jack-of-all-Trades. They have songs, can use a lot of weapons, use spells, can even heal some minor wounds, and can take some rogue skills. To say that all they do is sing and dance is kinda missing out on the point. Bards are supposed to live on their wits, their talent, and when worse comes to worse, their swords.

mortzestus
Clueless Prime
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 1:46 am
Location: Madrid, Spain (GMT +1)

Post by mortzestus » Sun Feb 05, 2006 11:09 pm

Pandaerus wrote:But with this you give every class the only identity bards has.
Their Perform skill.
The bard song special ability is the defining class feature of bards, not the perform skill. These are two different things.

Zebranky
Ambassador: The Grey Wastes
Posts: 187
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 4:31 pm

Post by Zebranky » Mon Feb 06, 2006 6:48 am

As the sub who originally worked on this, I don't think it's a horrible idea. ;)

I'll wait for consensus (and maybe an impending hak release) before I update it, though.

Post Reply